North Carolina Marriage License Requirements

Below is the information on what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the marriage laws before filling out the marriage license forms.

In order to get married, you need to apply and receive a marriage license. This is the document that allows you to officially be married under the law. Always check with your city's marriage bureau at your clerk of court's office to find out what your local rules are.

Licenses are usually not valid for more than 30 days so you'll typically need to apply for your marriage license within one month of your wedding ceremony. You need to submit your birth certificates, tax information, and other official documents.

When you apply for your license, you'll not only need a proof of identification and age, will need to provide any information about previous marriages, and will need to pay a nominal fee. You will also need to have a witness when you sign the application, so plan on bringing your maid of honor or best man with you. The bride will need to know what her married name will be before she signs the marriage certificate. You'll have to write that name on the application.

IMPORTANT: You are not officially married when you receive a marriage license. You need to have a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman sign the document. On your wedding day, you'll give your officiant your marriage license, then after the ceremony, he'll sign it and send it to the proper government agency for validation.

ID Requirement: Picture ID such as a driver's license. If application is mailed or faxed in, it must be witnessed by a Notary Public.

Residency Requirement: Do not have to be a resident of North Carolina.

Waiting Period: 3 days.

If Divorced: If divorced within the last 60 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree is needed.

Fees: Cash Only! $25

Other Tests: No tests

Under 18: Need certified copy of birth certificate, both parents must be present with identification, or if you have a legal guardian they must be present with a court order and identification.

Officiants: The minister, priest or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state may perform marriages. Ministers must provide marriage certificates to the couple married and report the marriage to the Marriage Commissioner.

Valid: License is valid for 90 days anywhere in North Carolina.
The license can only be used within the State of North Carolina.


IMPORTANT: State and county marriage license requirements can change so make sure you check with your local town clerk. This information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any plans.

Alamance County Graham, NC 336.570.6565 Alexander County Taylorsville, NC 828.632.3152 Alleghany County Sparta, NC 336.372.4342 Anson County Wadesboro, NC 704.694.3212 Ashe County Jefferson, NC 336.246.1841 Avery County Newland, NC 828.733.8260 Beaufort County Washington, NC 252.946.2323 Bertie County Windsor, NC 252.794.5309 Bladen County Elizabeth Town, NC 910.862.6710 Brunswick County Bolivia, NC 910.253.4429 Buncombe County Ashville, NC 828.255.5642 Burke County Morganton, NC 828.438.5450 Cabarrus County Concord, NC 704.788.8112 Caldwell County Lenoir, NC 828.757.1310 Camden County Camden, NC 252.335.4077 Carteret County Beaufort, NC 252.728.8474 Caswell County Yanceville, NC 336.694.4193 Catawba County Newton, NC 828.465.1573 Chatham County Pittsboro, NC 919.542.8235 Cherokee County Murphy, NC 828.837.2613 Chowan County Edenton, NC 252.482.2619 Clay County Hayesville, NC 828.389.0087 Cleveland County Shelby, NC 704.484.4834 Columbus County Whiteville, NC 910.640.6625 Craven County New Bern, NC 252.636.6617 Cumberland County Fayetteville, NC 910.678.7775 Currituck County Currituck, NC 252.232.3297 Dare County Manteo, NC 252.473.3438 Davidson County Lexington, NC 336.474.2643 Davie County Mocksville, NC 704.634.2513 Duplin County Kenansville, NC 910.296.2108 Durham County Durham, NC 919.560.0480 Edgecombe County Tarboro, NC 252.641.7924 Forsyth County Winston-Salem, NC 336.727.2259 Franklin County Louisburg, NC 919.496.3500 Gaston County Gastonia, NC 704.866.3181 Gates County Gatesville, NC 252.357.0850 Graham County Robbinsville, NC 828.479.7971 Granville County Oxford, NC 919.693.6314 Greene County Snow Hill, NC 252.747.3620 Guilford County Greensboro, NC 336.373.7556 Halifax County Halifax, NC 252.583.2101 Harnett County Lillington, NC 910.893.7540 Haywood County Waynesville, NC 828.452.6635 Henderson County Hendersonville, NC 828.697.4901 Hertford County Winton, NC 252.358.7850 Hyde County Swanquarter, NC 252.926.3011 Iredell County Statesville, NC 704.872.7468 Jackson County Sylva, NC 828.586.7532 Johnston County Smithfield, NC 919.989.5160 Jones County Trenton, NC 252.448.2551 Lee County Sanford, NC 919.774.4821 Lenior County Kinston, NC 252.559.6420 Lincoln County Lincolnton, NC 704.736.8530 Macon County Franklin, NC 828.349.2095 Madison County Marshall, NC 828.649.3131 Martin County Williamston, NC 252.792.1683 Mc Dowell County Marion, NC 828.652.4727 Mecklenburg County Charlotte, NC 704.336.2443 Mitchell County Bakersville, NC 828.688.2139 Montgomery County Troy, NC 910.576.4271 Moore County Carthage, NC 910.947.-6370 Nash County Nashville, NC 252.459.9836 New Hanover County Wilmington, NC 910.341.4531 Northampton County Jackson, NC 252.534.2511 Onslow County Jacksonville, NC 910.347.3451 Orange County Hillsborough, NC 919.732.8181 Pamlico County Bayboro, NC 252.745.4421 Pasquotank County Elizabeth City, NC 252.335.4367 Pender County Burgaw, NC 910.259.1225 Perquimans County Hertford, NC 252.426.5660 Person County Roxboro, NC 336.597.7221 Pitt County Greenville, NC 252.830.4130 Polk County Columbus, NC 828.894.8450 Randolph County Asheboro, NC 336.318.6960 Richmond County Rockingham, NC 910.997.8250 Robeson County Lumberton, NC 910.671.3045 Rockingham County Wentworth, NC 336.342.8820 Rowan County Salisbury, NC 704.638.3102 Rutherford County Rutherfordton, NC 828.287.6155 Sampson County Clinton, NC 910.592.8026 Scotland County Laurinburg, NC 910.277.2575 Stanly County Albemarle, NC 704.983.7235 Stokes County Dan Bury, NC 336.593.2811 Surry County Dobson, NC 336.366.8150 Swain County Bryson City, NC 828.488.9273 Transylvania County Brevard, NC 828.884.3162 Tyrell County Columbia, NC 252.796.2901 Union County Monroe, NC 704.283.3843 Vance County Henderson, NC 252.438.4155 Wake County Raleigh, NC 919.856.5460 Warren County Warrenton, NC 252.257.3265 Washington County Plymouth, NC 252.793.2325 Watauga County Boone, NC 828.265.8052 Wayne County Goldsboro, NC 919.731.1449 Wilkes County Wilkesboro, NC 336.838.2052 Wilson County Wilson, NC 252.399.2935 Yadkin County Yadkinville, NC 336.679.4225 Yancey County Burnsville, NC 828.682.2174